---
title: "How to modify or delete contacts and companies"
description: "A guide on how to modify or delete contacts and companies"
url: https://help.crono.one/en/articles/7-how-to-modify-or-delete-contacts-and-companies
collection: "Lists"
updated: 2026-09-17
language: en
---

# How to modify or delete contacts and companies

A guide on how to modify or delete contacts and companies

You can update or remove Contacts and Companies directly from the **Lists** section in Crono. The actions available depend on whether you **own** the record or have permission to manage it.

## Editing contacts or companies

### **1\. Go to the Lists page**

1.  Open the **Lists** section
    
2.  Select **Contacts** or **Companies**, depending on what you want to modify
    

### **2\. Edit the record**

-   Click on the record you want to modify
    
-   A sidebar will open with all its details
    
-   Update the fields you need to change (example: name, job title, industry, notes, owner, etc.)
    

Changes are saved automatically, unless a **Save** button is present for that field.

_Note that_ if you’re **integrated with a CRM**, any updates made to a contact or company card will also be reflected in the CRM.

## Deleting contacts or companies

To remove a record from Crono:

### **1\. Open the record**

-   Go to **Lists** → Contacts or Companies
    
-   Click on the record you want to delete
    

### **2\. Delete the record**

-   Click on the **Delete** option
    
-   Confirm the deletion when the confirmation modal appears
    

This action is **permanent** and cannot be undone.

## Bulk delete

You can also delete multiple Contacts or Companies at once:

1.  Select several records using the checkboxes
    
2.  Click **Actions**
    
3.  Select **Delete**
    
4.  Confirm the action
    

## Important notes

-   **Deleting a Contact does not delete the Company**
    
-   **Deleting a Company when there are active prospects inside of it is not allowed** - Crono is account based, therefore each contact must always be linked to a company
    
-   **If you’re integrated with a CRM**, when you try to delete contacts or companies in Crono, you’ll be asked whether you want to delete them from the CRM as well, or only from Crono.
    
-   When you **delete contacts or companies from the CRM** that are also present in Crono, they will be automatically deleted from Crono as well.
    
-   **Activities** and history linked to the deleted record will also be removed
    
-   Only users with the proper **permissions** can delete records
